KBTC is a service of Bates Technical College. Located in Tacoma, Washington. Bates is the largest technical college in the state. Here is a link to the Bates Technical College Board of Trustees. The Bates Technical College Board of Trustees serves as the Board of Directors for KBTC. Click here for a copy of the Board Handbook.

The Board of Trustees of Bates Technical College has regular meeting dates. Meetings are open to the public and begin at 3 p.m. at the Downtown Campus in the Clyde Hupp Board Room, unless otherwise noted. Click here for more information about the meetings including past meeting minutes. Click here for maps to each location.

Purposes and Rules of Executive Session / Closed Meeting

The Board may go into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing items provided for in Washington State Law – RCW 42.30.110(1):

a) (not applicable to education)

b) to consider the selection of a site or the acquisition of real estate by lease or purchase…;

c) to consider the minimum process at which real estate will be offered for sale or lease…;

d) to review negotiations on the performance of publicly bid contracts…’

e) (not applicable to education)

f) to receive and evaluate complaints or charges brought against a public officer or employee;

g) to evaluate the qualifications of an applicant for public employment or to review the performance of a public employee;

h) to evaluate the qualifications of a candidate for appointment to elective office;

i) to discuss with legal counsel representing the agency matters relating to agency enforcement actions, …. or litigation or potential litigation ….

No action is taken during Executive (Closed) Session. 

KBTC Management

Ed Ulman - Executive Director/General Manager, Dean of Instruction
Sherri Stanton - Director of Development
Darin Gerchak - Director of Engineering
Vicki Valdez - KBTC Financial Officer
Phil Kane - Manager of Programming and On-Air Promotion
Michael Peters - Creative Services Manager
Adrienne Loska - Manager of On-Air Fundraising
Brent Mason - Manager of Individual Giving
Tom Layson - Managing Editor & Host, Northwest Now
Ann Dyer - Community Engagement Associate

KBTC Association Board

Brad Berger - President
Dave Turk - Vice President
George Thornhill - Treasurer
Michael Carney
Lillian Hunter
Ron Langrell - ex officio
Meg Lee
Pat McElligot
George Mills
Bill Mohler
Karen Seinfeld
Mark Siegel
Ed Ulman - ex officio